Space Sheep to the Rescue

Posted: January 23, 2015 in Wicked Pissah

Since I review many board games, sometimes mix ups in logistics can happen. In this case I accidentally got a 2nd copy to review of a game called Space Sheep. I told the publisher about the error, and they were very gracious and said I could give it to someone that would like it.

 

pic1720202_md

 

It’s a co-operative game where you all work together and thereby win or lose together as a team. It’s a very puzzly game and really is a brain burner. If you are curious as to how this game is played, you can watch my review here.

Since no one in my game group was deeply into the logic of this game, I had the game up for trade and I was contacted by someone who was interested in it. His email said this:

“I don’t actually have very many games. I like games, but mostly I just evaluate them as learning and therapy resources. I once taught special education and a stroke has prevented me from returning to that occupation. However, I have since developed an interest in using games to help people recover from traumatic brain injuries. When I fist began working with the disabled it never occurred to me that I would ever be one. My inner geek was in love when I first saw Space Sheep, but the $50 after tax and delivery for bits of card board was too much.”

I was so inspired to hear not only of someone doing great things through a bad situation, but also having it be through board games. So I sent him the game without him knowing.

Here was his response:

“I was away for a few days, but I received a box from you today. It’s still in the shrink wrap. I really wish you had sent a used copy but it will be put to good use. Thank you. Many years ago someone told me that when you get a gift all you have to say is, “thank you.” I always thought that was an odd social convention, but I’ve never really come up with anything better on my own.”

So in the end I did end up trading the game. But instead of getting another game in return like usual, I received inspiration from someone else and a heart warming feeling knowing that disabled people are learning through the game. That’s better than any game I could have received. Yes, even better than Five Tribes (a reference to the first blog in this series about board games being used by God).

This is God’s M.O… Using a bad situation or event to bring greatness through it. Sometimes we don’t understand why we are going through what we are, but if we continue to keep our eyes focused on God, He has better things in store. He doesn’t just want to restore us to what we used to be, he wants to redeem us to something better than we ever were!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

