In-n-Out Burger Helps Man’s Memory

Posted: May 10, 2013 in Wicked Pissah
Tags:

How many of you are good at memorizing scripture? Good…..I’m not the only one that’s bad at it! :) Instead of citing the exact book, chapter, verse, and passage verbatim, I tend to burn it into my heart. For example I can usually understand the heart of the message and able to recall it, paraphrase it, and tell a story around what the passage was getting at. I also journal the passage using the SOAP method (Scripture, Observationa, Application, Prayer)which helps it burn into my heart.

With that being said, earlier this week I was reading through the book of Proverbs and a passage just hit me over the head. At the time it sounded so cool, that I actually tried to commit this one to memory. The next day I was able to repeat it. But last night I was on a plane to L.A and wanted to tell it to Denise, but I could only remember half of it which is “Lean not on your own understanding and submit your ways to him.”I sent a queue out to my brain hoping it would come to me a few min later.
After we landed we went to In-n-Out burger, and I was having a Neapolitan shake (from the secret menu). I looked under the cup to see which scripture was there, and it said Proverbs 3:5.

20130510-103100.jpg

I jumped out of my seat and yelled to Denise (and apparently the rest of the place) that’s the passage I was trying to remember (although I couldn’t remember the chapter or verse on the plane either). Then the entire verse came to me verbatim.
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your path straight.”

When I checked to see if that was the verse I was trying to remember you can imagine my excitement when it was confirmed. It’s crazy how God works and can speak right to you in the craziest places (In-n-Out Burger) using the craziest ways (the bottom of a shake cup).

I also can’t help but think about the irony of this situation. I was trying to lean on my own understanding to remember this passage, and he showed me that no matter how good my memory is, I still need him.

Formula of the Week
Neopolitan shake + God = his work in us

Question of the Week
What’s an interesting way God has spoken to you recently? Drop a comment and let us know!

Comments
  1. Bob Clardy says:

    Home run brother! Keep em coming, I love it!

Leave a Reply

